Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is regarded as one of the finest poets in Canada. Born November 18 1939 in Ottawa Canada and obtained her Bachelors of Art at Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her Masters of Art degree at Radcliff College in Cambridge Massachusetts. She has published several books of poetry, Essays, short stories and fictions. Margaret Atwood has received numerous award for her contribution to Literature and Art in general. She has received The Governor General’s Award twice, two Booker Prizes, the Arthur C Clarke Award, the Franz Kafka Price, Princess of Asturias Award, as well as the National Book Critic and PEN Center USA Lifetime Achievement Awards. She is the founder of the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Writers Trust of Canada. She invented the Long Pen devices.

Margaret Atwood interest in women and feminism was rendered more clearly in her novel the Edible Woman as well as others like Suffering, Life before Man, Bodily Man the Handmaids Tale and others. Atwood was more interested in the feminist movement and the economic situation of women. During an interview she with New York times, she said her women character comes from real life and they suffer because most of the women she has met has suffered. Here are two poems from her collection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: